Today = “sick day”…

I took a sick day, today.  The first one yet at my “new” job!  I was feeling under the weather most of the day yesterday and am so glad I had this moment of reprieve today.  I’m feeling a lot better!  READY TO GO.   We even took a little moped ride for some fresh air.  I think this made me feel even better than my multiple naps today.  😉

It was a beautiful day.

It was a beautiful day.

The sun was shining, birds were singing (not that I could hear it over the sound of my moped’s engine, but I just knew they were there).  We stopped to take a few pictures – I just couldn’t get over how warm it was!  A whopping 50 degrees!

So many wide open spaces in Maine

So many wide open spaces in Maine

sunsky

It is safe to say I cannot wait until I am melting again – I love the warm summer nights for moped riding by the ocean or various tributaries.  There are so many out here!  I just can’t wait.

Right now Matt is off on an 8-mile run with his twin, Matt (not really twin, but they look alike, come from similar backgrounds, are both obsessed with running, both vegan, both musically inclined, etc. etc.).  He and his wife, Emily, will likely be making the most appearances on this blog – just because I love them both so much!

While he was running, I had a chance to hang out with our other cat, Ellum – the forgotten cat.  We stopped to smell the “roses”… really sunflowers and pretty purple thingies.

Cat flower

flowers

Just another reason I cannot wait until summer – we will be growing some tall sunflowers in our backyard.  I’ve already put out the hummingbird feeder in the hopes they will show!

Anyways, Ellum and I had our quality time.  He made sure to sit right near me while I cooked.  We cooked something just marvelous: Buffalo Cauliflower Pizza.

cat chair

I used my nice camera today – can you tell? 😉

Buffalo Cauliflower Pizza (serves 8)

Ingredients:

  • one pre-made gluten-free crust (or make your own! I do this when I have more time) – I used Abigail’s Bakery’s gluten-free crust (out of Weare, NH)
  • 1/2 to 1 block tofu (depends how much you want)
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • salt (to taste)
  • pepper (to taste)
  • garlic powder (to taste)
  • onion powder (to taste)
  • nutritional yeast (about 2-3 tbsp)
  • lemon juice – about 1/4 c.
  • 1 c. nondairy milk (I use almond, but soy/rice/etc. would work fine)
  • 1 c. gluten-free all-purpose flour (I use bob’s redmill, but whatever works)
  • 3/4 c. hot sauce (I use RedHot)
  • 1 tbsp earth balance butter
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 head cauliflower, broken in florets, washed

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 450 degrees
  • Grease a medium sized baking sheet
  • In a medium bowl, mix together the salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, nutritional yeast, lemon juice, and block of tofu (crumbled) – place this into the fridge for now
  • In a small, microwavable bowl, mix together the hot sauce, corn starch, salt, pepper, and butter – heat in the microwave until butter melts and mix with a spoon – set aside
  • Put the florets into a large bowl.  In a smaller bowl, mix together garlic powder, flour, and nondairy milk.  Pour this mixture into the florets while slowly mixing together.
  • Place the covered florets on to the baking sheet (spread out)
  • Place the florets into the oven for about 15-20 minutes (or until brown)
  • Once done, put the florets back into the bowl and add the hot sauce mixture – cover well.
  • Take the tofu out of the fridge and spread over the crust.  Place the buffalo cauliflower over the tofu spread.  Bake for about 15-20 minutes.
  • Let cool about 5-10 minutes.  Serve warm!

pizza

Enjoy!

xoxo,

Kelsey 🙂

Leave a comment