I may need an allergist…

Happy Sunday Evening!

I hope all of you have enjoyed your weekend thus far, I know I have. Besides my typical Sunday morning heavy duty allergy attack (I don’t know what it is.. but every, SINGLE, Sunday this happens), it has been busy and full of food and play. Tomorrow, however, begins the crazy week of work ahead. How did I prepare?

quinoa burgers.

20140324-221529.jpg

They were delicious! And, most importantly, so easy to make. Just grab your food processor and whip it up.

Quinoa Burgers

Ingredients (serves ~12 – only 2 WW points/burger)
1 c. quinoa, cooked
1 red pepper
1 can black beans (or kidney)
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 c. quick oats, dry
1 small onion ( I used yellow – doesn’t matter!)
spices to taste (I used red pepper flakes, black pepper, and herbamare)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
Grease 1 large (or two small) baking sheets.
Cook the quinoa (1 c. quinoa in a pot, add ~2 c. water, bring to a boil with lid on – at boil, tilt lid and turn to simmer until quinoa bubbles on top and water is evaporated)
Chop the red pepper and onion.
Put quinoa, red pepper, onion, black beans, garlic, and spices in food processor. Pulse/mix/pulse/mix.
Empty into a large bowl and add the quick oats.
Mix until mushy/sticky.

Evenly distribute the mixture into about 12 patties onto your baking sheet. Bake for about 10-15 minutes per side (you will have to flip them) or until browning. Don’t forget to let cool then serve!

I ate mine crumbled into a lettuce wrap with mustard and Joseph’s red pepper hummus (yummy). I also love it on a bun with avacado, red onion, lettuce, and mustard. Lots of options!

20140324-222414.jpg

I must say, I am also lucky that Matt made black bean soup (delish!).

In other news, my cats have a new friend. Sort of:

20140324-222523.jpg

I say “sort of” because I really bought him for my classroom at work. They named him “Spots” (I had previously named him Betty because he is a beta fish, and well, I’m not that creative). Anywho, the cats were in awe of him for his short stay in my house. I suppose they will see him in a few short weeks when Spots comes back home during vacation week!

20140324-222715.jpg

All I know is that it is IEP season for me at work, which means crazy, hectic, and totally wonky. Come May 1st, things will be a bit easier on that front. In the meantime, I am just doing my job, zenning out, and petting kitties.

Oh, yes – speaking of kitties. Silly is getting bladder surgery on Wednesday, as she need a stone removed. If you’re looking to donate to a good cause, please think about helping us out! Good vibes and thoughts are also appreciated. We just love these fur babies oh so much.

DONATE HERE

20140324-223117.jpg

I hope you all have a lovely week full of beautiful surprises. And that NO more snow comes your way. 😉

xoxo,
Kelsey

Leave a comment